British Army of the Rhine (1)

Headquarters, British Army of the Rhine

1st Rhine Infantry Brigade (2)

Headquarters, 1st Rhine Infantry Brigade & Signal Section

2nd Bn. The Royal Welch Fusiliers

2nd Bn. The Hampshire Regiment

1st Bn. The Prince of Wales's Volunteers (South Lancashire Regiment)

2nd Rhine Infantry Brigade (3)

Headquarters, 2nd Rhine Infantry Brigade & Signal Section

2nd Bn. The Royal Fusiliers (City of London Regiment)

2nd Bn. The Leicestershire Regiment

2nd Bn. The Dorsetshire Regiment

Divisional Troops (5)

8th King's Royal Irish Hussars Rhine Section, 3rd Bn. The Royal Tank Corps

19th Field Brigade, Royal Artillery

7th (Field) Company, Royal Engineers

The Rhine Signal Company, Royal Corps of Signals

The Rhine Detachment, Royal Army Service Corps

The Rhine Detachment, Royal Army Medical Corps

The Rhine Detachment, Royal Army Ordnance Corps

The Rhine Detachment, Royal Army Veterinary Corps

The Rhine Detachment, Royal Army Pay Corps

NOTES:

1. With the cessation of hostilities in November 1918, the British Army sent a large occupation force into Germany. This was progressively scaled back to two brigades, and these were withdrawn finally on 14 September 1929. This is the order of battle at the time of the withdrawal in September 1929. Three of the infantry battalions returned to Catterick in Yorkshire, where they formed the 14th Infantry Brigade, which itself was part of the newly reformed 5th Division.

SOURCES: