Lahore District (1)

7th Bn. The King's Own Royal Regiment (Lancaster)

25th Bn. 4th Bombay Grenadiers

26th Bn. 7th Rajput Regiment

14th Bn. 12th Frontier Force Regiment

26th Bn. 15th Punjab Regiment

26th Bn. 2nd Punjab Regiment

76th Cavalry (Garrison Regiment)

1. The Lahore District was one of the pre-war districts within India. The district was part of Northern Command. In April 1942, a new Central Command was formed and the district transferred to that command. This is the order of battle for this command on the 15th January 1945. When Central Command disbanded in June 1946, the Lahore District reverted to Northern Command. In October 1940, command of the district was assumed by Major General H. T. D. HICKMAN, C.B., O.B.E., M.C.. He remained in command until 31 July 1943, when he retired. He was succeeded by Major General (Temporary) Alan Bruce BLAXLAND, C.B., O.B.E., Indian Army with effect from 2 September 1943. Major General BLAXLAND relinquished command on 3 September 1946, with Major General John Geoffrey BRUCE, C.B., D.S.O., M.C., Indian Army, i.d.c., p.s.c. assuming command on 18 October 1946. The last British commander of the District was Major General Berthold Wells KEY, who assumed command on July 1947.

Lucknow District (1)

8th Cavalry

1st Bn. The Lancashire Fusiliers 1st Bn. The Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers 25th Bn. 2nd Punjab Regiment 26th Bn. 8th Punjab Regiment 1st Bn. The Lingayat Regiment

G.H.Q. Reserve

10th Bn. The Lancashire Fusiliers The Mawar Infantry, Indian States Forces

Training

6th Bn. 16th Punjab Regiment

The District was also known as the United Provinces Area, with its headquarters in the city of Lucknow. Major General Gerald Michael FITZGERALD, M.C., Indian Army assumed command on 16 January 1941, to be replaced by Major General (Acting) Arthur Verney HAMMOND, D.S.O., Indian Army, p.s.c. on 6 January 1944. Major General Francis Ivan Simms TUKER, C.B., D.S.O., O.B.E., Indian Army, assumed command on 30 November 1945; to be followed by Major General Alfred Cyril CURTIS, C.B., D.S.O., M.C., Indian Army in January 1946.

Delhi District (1)

2nd Bn. The King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry 1st Bn. 6th Rajputana Rifles 26th Bn. 16th Punjab Regiment 26th Bn. 13th Frontier Force Rifles

Bikaner Garrison Battalion, Indian States Forces

1. This district was formed by the upgrading of the former Delhi (Independent) Brigade Area in late 1943, and the run-down of the former Meerut District. Major General (Acting) Rowan Arthur Bayfield FREELAND, M.C., Indian Army assumed command of the new district with effect from 1 May 1944. He remained in command until November 1946. On 1 August 1947, it was redesignated as the Delhi Sub-Area.

Najpur District (1)

27th Bn. 9th Jat Regiment 27th Jind Garrison Battalion 1st Bn. The Coorg Regiment

28th Bn. 5th Mahratta Light Infantry 26th Bn. 14th Punjab Regiment

52nd Infantry Brigade (2)

Headquarters, 52nd Infantry Brigade & Signal Section

20th Bn. The Royal Fusiliers (City of London Regiment)
7th Bn. The South Lancashire Regiment (The Prince of Wales's Volunteers)
12th Bn. The Sherwood Foresters (Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire Regiment)

- 1. This district came into existence on 10 March 1944 with the appointment of Major General Reginald Blaxland CLARABUT, Indian Army. Major General Frank Hollamby SKINNER, C.I.E., O.B.E., assumed command on 1 December 1945, and remained in command until around the time of Partition.
- 2. This was a brigade in the British Army, which was formed in September 1943 in India. On 16 September 1943, Brigadier (Acting) Harold Alban DAVIES, M.B.E., M.C. assumed command as the Brigade Commander. He was a British officer in the Royal Irish Fusiliers. The first unit to join the brigade was the 20th Bn. The Royal Fusiliers, which came under command of the brigade on 15 November 1943. This battalion had arrived in India on 18 March 1943, and travelled to Allahabad to undertake jungle training. The battalion moved to Budhi in Bhopal State where it joined this brigade. Its role was as a school of jungle warfare through which all British reinforcements would pass before being deployed to Burma. The 7th Bn. The South Lancashire Regiment joined on 20 November 1943, with the third battalion, the 12th Bn. The Sherwood Foresters joining on 1 January 1945. The 20th Bn. The Royal Fusiliers moved to Lohardaga in Bihar on 28 April 1945, and began to run-down shortly afterwards. This battalion was disbanded in March 1946, which is about when it is believed the Training Group was disbanded. The 8th Bn. The York and Lancaster Regiment joined the brigade on 1 May 1945 as a fourth battalion.