51st (Highland) Infantry Division (1)

Headquarters, 51st (Highland) Infantry Division

152nd (Highland) Infantry Brigade (2)

Headquarters, 152nd (Highland) Infantry Brigade & Signal Section

4th (Ross-shire) Bn. The Seaforth Highlanders

(Ross-shire Buffs, The Duke of Albany's)

6th (Morayshire) Bn. The Seaforth Highlanders

(Ross-shire Buffs, The Duke of Albany's) (3)

4th Bn. The Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders

153rd (Highland) Infantry Brigade (4)

Headquarters, 153rd (Highland) Infantry Brigade & Signal Section

4th (City of Dundee) Bn. The Black Watch (Royal Highland Regiment)

5th (Buchan and Formartin) Bn. The Gordon Highlanders

6th (Banffshire) Bn. The Gordon Highlanders (5)

154th (Highland) Infantry Brigade (6)

Headquarters, 154th (Highland) Infantry Brigade & Signal Section

6th (Perthshire) Bn. The Black Watch (Royal Highland Regiment)

7th Bn. The Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders (Princess Louise's)

8th (Argyllshire) Bn. The Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders (Princess Louise's)

Divisional Troops

1st Fife and Forfar Yeomanry (8)

Headquarters, 51st (Highland) Infantry Divisional Royal Artillery

75th (Highland) Field Regiment, Royal Artillery (9)

(H.Q., 299th (City of Aberdeen) & 300th (City of Aberdeen) Field Batteries, Royal Artillery)

76th (Highland) Field Regiment, Royal Artillery (10)

(H.Q., 302nd (Fife) & 303rd (City of Dundee) Field Batteries, Royal Artillery)

77th (Highland) Field Regiment, Royal Artillery (11)

(H.Q., 305th (Renfrew) & 306th (Renfrew) Field Batteries, Royal Artillery)

51st (West Highland) Anti-Tank Regiment, Royal Artillery (12)

(H.Q., 201st (Argyll), 202nd (Bute), 203rd (Ross) & 204th (Oban) Anti-Tank Batteries, Royal Artillery)

Headquarters, 51st (Highland) Infantry Divisional Engineers (13) 236th (City of Aberdeen) Field Company, Royal Engineers 237th (City of Dundee) Field Company, Royal Engineers 238th (County of Renfrewshire) Field Company, Royal Engineers 239th (City of Aberdeen) Field Park Company, Royal Engineers

51st (Highland) Divisional Signals, Royal Corps of Signals (14)

- 1. This was a first-line territorial army division, with its headquarters located at Cragie, Perth. The division mobilised on the outbreak of war, moving to Aldershot Command on 7th October 1940. It arrived in France on the 24th January 1940. On the 29th January 1940, it came under command of II Corps, transferring to III Corps on the 9th April 1940. On the 22nd April 1940, the division was detached from the B.E.F. to join the 3rd French Army. The division, with the exception of the 154th Infantry Brigade Group, was captured at St. Valery in France on the 12th June 1940. It was reconstituted in the United Kingdom by the redesignation of the 9th Infantry Division, which had been formed as the duplicate of this division in 1939.
- 2. A first-line territorial army brigade, with its headquarters based at Inverness. The 4th Bn. Seaforth Highlanders was a pre-war T.A. battalion, then designated as the 4th/5th (The Ross, Sutherland and Caithness) Battalion. In 1939, when the battalion duplicated, it took this designation. Its headquarters were based at Strathpeffer. The 6th Bn. Seaforth Highlanders, based at Elgin, was the other T.A. battalion in the regiment. The 4th Bn. Cameron Highlanders was the T.A. battalion for the regiment, and was based at Inverness. The brigade was captured at St. Valery.
- 3. In line with the policy of the B.E.F. to exchange regular army and territorial army units between formations, this battalion left the brigade on the 30th March 1940, transferring to the 17th Infantry Brigade, 5th Division. It was replaced on the same day by the: 2nd Bn. The Seaforth Highlanders (Ross-shire Buffs, The Duke of Albany's) a regular army battalion which transferred in from the 17th Infantry Brigade.
- 4. A first line territorial brigade, the headquarters of which was located at Aberdeen. Three first line T. A. battalions comprised the brigade, the 4th Bn. Black Watch based at Dundee, the 5th Bn. Gordons based at Bucksburn, and the 6th Bn. Gordons at Keith. This brigade was also captured at St. Valery.
- 5. On the 7th March 1940, this battalion transferred to the 2nd Infantry Brigade, 1st Infantry Division. It was replaced from that brigade by the: 1st Bn. The Gordon Highlanders
- 6. A first line territorial army brigade, with its headquarters located at Stirling. The 6th Bn. Black Watch was based at Perth, with the 7th Bn. Argylls also based at Perth, and the 8th Bn. Argylls based at Oban. This brigade was detached from the division to garrison Le Havre, and was successfully evacuated from there on
- 7. This battalion transferred to the 12th Infantry Brigade, 4th Infantry Division on the 4th March 1940. It was replaced from that brigade on the same date by the:-1st Bn. The Black Watch (Royal Highland Regiment)
- 8. A yeomanry regiment, which was based at Kirkcaldy in Fife.
- 9. This regiment was a first-line T.A. regiment, with all three batteries based in Aberdeen. It travelled to France with the division. During the campaign, it was attached to 'ArkForce' and was evacuated from Le Havre. On its return to the United Kingdom, it was attached to the 31st Infantry Brigade Group.
- 10. This regiment was a first-line Territorial Army regiment, with the H.Q. and 303rd Batteries based in Dundee, and the 302nd Battery based at Levan. On the 5th March 1940, the regiment transferred to the 3rd Infantry Division. It was replaced by the:
 - 23rd Field Regiment, Royal Artillery
 - a regular army unit which transferred from the $3^{\rm rd}$ Infantry Division on the same day.

- 11. This was also a first-line T.A. regiment, with all three batteries based in Greenock. It left this division on the 19th February 1940, transferring to the 4th Infantry Division. The replacement regiment transferred in from the 4th Infantry Division on the same day, namely the: 17th Field Regiment, Royal Artillery
- 12. This was also a T.A. regiment, which was converted from the 54th (West Highland) Army Field Regiment in 1938. The 54th (West Highland) Field Brigade had itself only been formed in 1936. The Headquarters and 204th Batteries were based in Oban, the 201st Battery at Campbeltown, the 202nd Battery at Rothesay, and the 203rd Battery at Stornoway.
- 13. The four royal engineer companies were all first line territorial army companies. The 236^{th} Company was based in Aberdeen with the 239th Company, the 237th Company was based in Dundee, and the 238th Company in Paisley.
- 14. The divisional signals were based in Aberdeen.